Coffee

IMG_0518

This is one thing that provides some sort of continuation or stability when going through change: coffee.

I drink it at home and at the university. When we have a break, we go for coffee. We drink coffee in church. My friends and I drink coffee when we are together. My mother helped me with moving; the first thing we did when we met every day was having a cup of coffee. When we had a break, we had coffee. If it didn’t keep her awake at night, we might even end the day with a cuppa. When the family meet, we have coffee well into the night.

I’m a coffee drinker, and along with church, it’s one of the few natural constants and stabilisers in my life. A small thing that becomes important during times of change.

There is a tradition with tea in England and a saying that having a cup of tea “would be the only civilized thing to do.” I have a sense that that is how Danes think of coffee.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Photography in a New Media Environment
One comment on “Coffee
  1. […] One of the things that have been a stable throughout, well, basically anything but following the Word of Wisdom of the Latter-Day Saints (which lasted less than a month after being challenged by a pair of missionaries), is coffee. You may remember me mentioning it last year too. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow Freya's Halls on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram; I'm on both as @freyanaja.

Join 276 other followers

