Confessions of a Sherlockian

I just finished the next to last episode of the BBC series “Sherlock” – season three, episode two: “The Sign of Three”, the one taking place at Dr. John Watson’s wedding to his Mary.

And somehow, I feel so… Not empty. But odd. I don’t know what to do with myself. As if something is finished – or finishing up – and there is no knowing what’s in the future; there is no obvious direction.

A theory of mine is that somehow I have this huge identification with Sherlock, not being quite autotypical, and on top of that, being an introvert. Without saying too much about what’s going on (I think that I may already have said enough for those who haven’t made it thus far in the “Sherlock” series), this episode left me a bit sad, although optimistic for the couple. And feeling — well, odd and perhaps slightly lost.

(If you think I have left out spoilers so far, you’re obviously blissfully unaware of the works of both Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and director Guy Ritchie. I urge you to watch the movies with Robert Downey, Jr. as Sherlock Holmes and Jude Law as Dr. Watson and read the books on which the movies and the TV series are based.)

I started to consider it; why was I suddenly so engaged in what is – objectively speaking, of course – no more than a TV series? And what have I done when being left with a feeling like this in the past?

To take up the last question first: yes, I have been feeling lost in that finished-or-finishing-up-kind-of-way before; usually it has been connected to coming home after an intensive period with good people, turning in that first huge paper (SSO/SRP, anyone?), graduation, and fabulous projects in general. In later years, I have found that I have spent time by the computer, often because I had to, and essentially I have been writing my way out of it. While I’m hoping not to get lost in the online world of social media and the likes, I have developed a certain love of communication, especially in digital formats and online (although I also do realize that there is nothing like having the physical paper/book/etc. in your hand or having real people in the same room as you). I have tried to engage myself on a blog for years now, so this might be the perfect place to let out some steam. I might actually gain something from it.

But to get back to the TV: why have I become so engaged in this, in the “Sherlock”-series specifically?

First of all, I think it’s because I have been able to relate to or recognize some of my own personal trades in this version of the character of Sherlock Holmes that I haven’t been able to recognize in any other character in any other movie or TV series — ever. It’s the being a loner, the odd one out, being… not conventional, having a lot of things going on in my head (apparently there sometimes seems to be more than in the heads of others), vocally jumping to conclusions without letting my surroundings know what I’m concluding on or how I concluded it (it just seems to be obvious without having to explain it)… There is more, but it just takes up my time and emotional energy as well as space in this post to list everything I have recognized in the eight episodes I have seen so far and expand on it/give a personal account/explanation. As for personal accounts: I may get there, but it will be later and in seperate posts.

Second of all, it may be because “Sherlock” is a miniseries. Sure, the episodes are movie length, but being a miniseries still makes the series as well as the episodes more intense than other TV-series. We have two main characters with each their intensive background who come together to live an intensive life together. They, their relationship, and mutual story develop, and those who have worked on this have, as far as I’m concerned, signed up for three seasons of three episodes to cover years of mentioned development and what Sir Arthur Conan Doyle gave us – and doing so in a modern day version. If that’s not intensive work that can rub off on the final product, I don’t know what is; at least not when speaking of this medium or genre.

Many of the TV series I have been following so far have been running for several years with twenty-some episodes per season. Even with the 22 minutes an episode of a situation comedy series is running for, the situation comedy series still has more time than “Sherlock” has per season. Even if each episode usually conclude their separate story within those 22 minutes, they still have twenty-some episodes per season to develop the characters and main storyline. There is more time to savor on the style and feel of the specific season than in a miniseries. And if you ask me personally, I would say that the stories and mysteries presented in “Sherlock” can’t just be chopped into twenty-some/half-hour episodes.

“Sherlock” is one of those productions where I’m left wondering what just hit me; the last time that happened was when the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy came out. That trilogy still has a very special place in my heart. Also having both Martin Freeman (Dr. Watson) and Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock Holmes) in the Hobbit trilogy doesn’t make things worse for me – I’m so thrilled and am looking so much forward to seeing the last installation.

Among the thoughts running through my head before sitting down by the computer to write this is that I truly have a love for good TV series; if I don’t have a series to follow, a new episode to look forward to each week, I always seem to be looking for a new series to follow. Television has been something to look down on for some reason, seen as a stupidifier and/or pacifier. For that reason I never really owned up to watching what I really like or LOVING a specific series, but only started to consider doing so when having listened to others speak of their love of TV in a way one can speak of a love of music or movies or what have you. There are a lot of good productions made for television, and some of them make it to my not-to-be-missed list and become the reason why I appreciate being able to record or restart certain programs if I’m not at home or am out of time – even buying them on DVD if I can’t live without them in the long run.

With “Sherlock” being that last notch, I concluded that I might as well be blogging on TV as well as everything else. When my blogging began taking shape back at Blogspot, it was because I began to aim at the subjects I applied to at the University of Copenhagen. Now, almost five years after, I study dramaturgy at Aarhus University – and even though this program is predominantly aimed at theater (which I also aim my career at), it can easily be applied to movies and TV as well; all three have dramaturgies, and papers are being written on these media as well as any other aspect of theater.

More on the mentioned subjects in this post is hopefully to come. 🙂

If anything is unclear, please do ask. This is one of those posts that I would actually like to clarify if any part of it is unclear.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Personal, Television

Leave a Reply

Follow Freya's Halls on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram; I'm on both as @freyanaja.

Join 279 other followers

