Music Monday #3: “Hit ‘Em Up Style” by Blu Cantrell

I had a bit of an issue finding a track this week. For one, I have been OBSESSED! with Pentatonix, but I don’t want to repeat a name two weeks in a row. Plus, I’m doing this last minute.

My obsession with Pentatonix set aside, there are two tracks I’m listening to these days as they relate to London in my book, but honestly, I would rather wait with those two tracks. Why? Well, my dears, I’m planning a trip to London in August – Yay! – and I would rather keep those two tracks for then.

So, in sheer panic of not having any other music in my head these days, I have been browsing through my music library and found this:

“Hit ‘Em Up Style” by Blu Cantrell went in circulation in Denmark when I was in high school (gymnasiet) back in the start of the 2000s, thus making up part of the audial memory of mine from back then; always listening to music radio in the morning back then, the song usually takes me back to going to school in the morning.

Speaking of the Top 5 most frequently played tracks on the computer (and, let’s face it, my phone), Pentatonix have been on repeat and have made their way into the Top 5. The top track by the group is “Run to You”, to which they have released the music sheets for those who want to work with the song. You can find the music sheets right here (and read the news of releasing them right here).

1. “Free Your Mind” by En Vogue (watch on YouTube or listen on Spotify)
2. “Run to You” by Pentatonix (watch on YouTube or listen on Spotify)
3. “R U Ready” by The Artful Dodger (listen on YouTube or on Spotify)
4. “Desire” by En Vogue (listen on YouTube or on Spotify)
5. “Hey Momma/Hit the Road Jack” by Pentatonix (listen on Spotify)

Which track takes you back in time or represents a certain period of life to you?

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Music, Music Monday

Leave a Reply

Follow Freya's Halls on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram; I'm on both as @freyanaja.

Join 279 other followers

