Spice Shakers (and the Finding of the Cheshire Cat)

Spice shakers

Recycling the spice shakers – before and after acetone

I don’t know if I should claim not to have high standards in the kitchen – I would say that I do have certain standards in that area – but sometimes one has to be to a more practical side rather than being picky. This applies to the spice containers and shakers in my kitchen. True enough, I am picky with the spices, and if I really had to pick something to have my salt and pepper in, it would be in pawn-shaped grinders which can be found with a brand like Peugeot. But alas, to this day I haven’t been able to find space for them in my budget.

Fortunately, I have found an alternative that I find to be of great use; every now in a blue moon, I buy spices in shakers like the pictured. I have one for salt, one for pepper, and the one you see in the background containing a mix of powdered cinnamon and sugar which traditionally dresses rice porridge (or “rice pudding” as some call it) along with a knob of butter. Some merely use powdered cinnamon, which I think is the absolute traditional thing, but the mix with sugar has made its way into tradition. I always had a problem with dressing the porridge evenly with a spoon, so having a shaker to do so is a gift.

The reason why I don’t have a lot of these shakers is because I buy most of my spices from an organic brand called Urtekram. They come in beautiful tiny tins these days – once they came in equally tiny glass jars – which I save, clean, and refill. The wonderful thing about these tins is that you can pull the label right off, no soaking, no hassle. But with some of the glass jars I have kept throu time, a bit of soaking is needed to dissolve the glue keeping on the label – and in some cases, even some acetone is needed to remove the most persistent glue (a trick that I learned when using nail polish remover as a teenager).

When it comes to the Cheshire Cat in the Hiding of the Cheshire Cat post, you can find him in the dark area between the F and the O. If you want, you can see him right here.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Kitchen, PiNME Revisited

Leave a Reply

Follow Freya's Halls on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram; I'm on both as @freyanaja.

Join 276 other followers

