Bringing a bit of change around

When I started blogging, it was with a sense that I had something on my mind that I wanted to get out – even when nobody was around, or if it needed to come out without an initial discussion of the subject. Thoughts sparked or inspired by something I see or hear. I’m not sure whether I branched out or limited myself when I started aiming at the subjects of study I applied for when applying at the University of Copenhagen; as part of my application for each subject (in prioritized order: theater, Dutch, English, and theology), I mentioned my intention of blogging along the way of my studies. Up until my acceptance at the university, I would be looking for each of the subjects in whatever I would blog.

My ambitions with the blog grew even further when seeing other blogs on which the owners spoke their minds on social or political matters, and later those who blogged elaborately of their travels. I started in a period of my life when I was becoming more and more aware of politics and social matters; I became a member of a political party as well as their youth organization, I became active at school, and even wrote my final project on politics when graduating high school. I was painfully aware of what politics and social matters meant to society – and wanted to do the right thing and speak up and speak my mind on these matters. But with time, I was worn out by all of the wrongs that I could see in the world and the thought of having to have and express an opinion on each and every single one of them. Enter specific interests to run and hide behind; travel, theater, music, food, languages/linguistics and the cultures in which they are spoken or they have influenced, theology, what have you – and all of the elaborate media sources on each subject I could find. I felt that I had to be on the same level of each of those sources in every single one of those subjects. Needless to say, I was out of breath and in need of a nap even before I started.

If you have visited this blog before late December 2014, you may have noticed that my blog has changed. Not only have I changed the template (the design), I have also removed the subjects that I thought I would be blogging on from the primary menu. Instead of those, I have chosen to make a menu of select categories in one of the columns on the home page and on individual blog posts. This menu is subject to change. This is not because I don’t want to blog on these specific subjects anymore; this is just because I don’t want to put them above other subjects or want to pretend that I know more about them than anyone else. And I don’t want to limit myself to them, or feel that I have to.

Hopefully this will help me to come back and express myself around these parts a little more often.

Welcome to my blog. 🙂

Posted in Checking in, Personal, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow Freya's Halls on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram; I'm on both as @freyanaja.

Join 276 other followers

